A Grumpy Computer Scientist
1 min readOct 4, 2021

--

I am certain that you know a lot more about this than me :) I am a theoretical computer scientist... I understand that there is some controversy about finer points. I just read this: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1111/evo.14268
and it seems to hint to the fact that PE and other alternatives to MS are a) only marginally or incrementally different and b) they aren't more convincing than the original. The paper concludes that maybe we are still waiting for the perfect theory.
Fodor was also critical, although he had rather philosophical motives that I am not interested in. Also, he was notoriously wrong about everything 😁
That's all fair enough, I get it.. But I have a different priority in mind. If we nitpick about different versions of evolutionary theory, we only give ammunitions to imbeciles to say "see? You don't even agree amongsts yourselves"
Try to Google "Narcissism of Small Differences" 😄👍

--

--

A Grumpy Computer Scientist

UK-based AI professor interested in AI, mind, science, rationality, digital culture and innovation. Hobbies: incessantly fighting nonsense.